Carnival Week is Here!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Clearly, I don’t mean Christmas…it’s Carnival!

While the Jamaican carnival season pretty much runs from Ash Wednesday (ie. once Trinidad Carnival is done) until Carnival Sunday (some might even argue the Monday after carnival since we do have at least one event happening that day) the pinnacle of it all is really from the Easter Weekend until the Road March.

These days, I’m not a big party person, not even when it comes to soca, but this season has seen me actually leaving my house, being sociable and attending (and enjoying) a few events. It’s definitely been a March into April to remember with events like Cocoa Jouvert and Madhouse Cooler Fete and then Bacchanal Road, Tailgate and whatever else I get talked into still to come before the final Road March.

Carnival 2017

Carnival 2017

Usually on the road I’m pretty low key, I don’t do hair and nails and all that jazz, but this year I feel like going all out (by my standards) which means that this last week is packed with preparation plans for jump up day. So what’s on my list of things to do before Sunday?

  • Daily weather forecast checks – I loathe carnival rain but if I must endure then I need to know in advance
  • Determine my essential on the road items (and make sure they can fit in my fanny pack)
  • Exercise, exercise, exercise to try build up some last minute stamina
  • Schedule the week so I know what needs to get done and when
  • Lean to sew so I can do any necessary adjustments – this was absolutely crucial for 2016 and 2018 carnivals
  • Airport pick ups

I won’t bore you with the sub-tasks for all of the above, but suffice it to say, I have a busy week ahead and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Carnival 2016

Carnival 2016

Leave a comment