I had another post scheduled for today…

I had another post scheduled for today. This week I did everything right and had finished and scheduled the post from well in advance. But as the day wore on, the heavier I felt trying to process everything going on in the world (mostly the US) and a blog post about braiding my hair would only be flippant.

Now, I’m a private person (I get the irony of having a blog) and I tend to keep my views and opinions to myself so this isn’t going to be a post pontificating on what needs to be done and how to make the world a better place, because I don’t pretend to have the answers for that.

But, if you’re interested, these are the top three things weighing me down today:

  1. #BlackLivesMatter – Growing up in a country where black people are the dominant race, I don’t pretend to be able to understand what Black Americans go through and it wasn’t until I was much older and started reading Cornel West and Henry Louis Gates Jnr that I finally begun to grasp the challenges that exist.
  2. #JusticeForSusanBogle – On May 27, in Jamaica, a disabled woman was shot and killed in her home in August Town. I could get into the stats on the levels of inequality persons with disabilities face, but I honestly think it’s obvious enough that I don’t have to.
  3. Myka Stauffer – My mother always says there are three sides to every story, your side, my side and the truth, and while I definitely don’t know this woman’s journey or the struggles they faced after adopting a son from China who they knew had special needs, I personally know the challenges that come with raising a child with special needs. The couple About three years after the adoption, they decided to “rehome” their son with a new “forever family”.

Leave a comment