Making the perfect summer top

I remember a friend once telling me that if I didn’t know the lyrics to a song, I could just mouth “watermelon, watermelon, watermelon” to the tune and no one would know. This was back when I used to do musical theatre and sometimes just hadn’t learnt the lyrics to the song yet. This is totally irrelevant to this post, but every time I think about this top, that’s the first thing that comes to mind.

When I saw the fabric at Pablo’s I fell in love and didn’t really know what I was going to do with it, but decided to buy a half yard anyway. So after sitting on it for a bit, I was like it’s the perfect print to do a fun, summery, off-the-shoulder top. And, as it happened, half a yard was the perfect amount of fabric for the top. There was barely anything left over, but I think it’ll be just enough to make a matching scrunchy, and a drink coaster, cause you know, we’re not letting anything go to waste.

Honestly, this was the simplest top to make. It’s basically just a bunch of rectangles, some hemming, and then stitching it all together with the elastic. Sewing in the elastic is probably the most difficult part, but it’s also a great way to practice and I’ve definitely got better at sewing elastic in quarters. An easier way would be to do a casing and just run the elasting through, which would give it a slightly different look, but nothing that would take away from the cuteness of the top.

It’s breezy, it’s cute, and the way this Jamaican summer is looking to be hot hot hot, that’s all I’m about.

Leave a comment